Reckless Driving Charges in Virginia Bring Severe Consequences
If you have been charged with reckless driving in Virginia, you are at risk of being convicted of a misdemeanor. You need an attorney who can defend you against fines, jail time and a suspension of your driving privileges.
Unlike other states, it is extremely easy to be charged with reckless driving in Virginia. Exceeding the posted speed limit by at least 20 miles per hour or driving at speeds in excess of 80 miles per hour, regardless of the posted speed limit, may result in a misdemeanor charge. You could be facing penalties that include:
- Fines up to $2,500
- A year in jail
- Suspension of your driving privileges
Even if you are not speeding, a police officer can still charge you with reckless driving. If, in the opinion of a police officer, you are driving in such a manner as to endanger life or property, the Virginia Code authorizes a charge of reckless driving.
Our attorneys understand the reckless driving laws and what it takes to defend you against them. We will work diligently to take full advantage of the statute that gives judges broad discretion to reduce reckless driving charges to a traffic infraction instead of a misdemeanor. We can assess the charges against you and provide you with a clear and concise explanation of what we can do to help you to minimize or eliminate the consequences associated with them.